Smoke Detector Inspection
Certificate of Smoke Detector, Carbon Monoxide Alarm and Fire Extinguisher Compliance
Inspections are required for the sale, rental or change of occupancy of a 1- or 2-family dwelling. The inspection will check for the proper placement and operation of smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms as well as the required fire extinguisher. The inspection is required by the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code.
- Initial inspection: $100.00
- Each reinspection: $100.00
- Inspection requested on another day, or after the schedule is full requiring another day: $150.00
Inspections are conducted by the Randolph Fire Prevention Bureau on Monday mornings between 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. Please be sure to schedule your appointment for an inspection as soon as you are able because slots fill up quickly.
The New Jersey Uniform Fire Code requires a minimum of one smoke detector on each level of your home, including the basement. A smoke detector must be located in the hallway outside any bedroom. Homes with long hallways may require more than one smoke detector for proper coverage. Rule of thumb is to have a smoke detector within 10 feet of any bedroom.
If your home was built prior to 1977, you may use battery powered smoke detectors to meet the requirements.
If your home was constructed in 1977 or later, or if a substantial addition was made to your home, electric smoke detectors would have been required under the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code. Depending on when the home was built, you may have electric smoke detectors in each bedroom as well. All electrical smoke detectors that came with your home must be in working order and may not be replaced with battery type units. In most cases, the electrical smoke detectors are interconnected so that if one detector activates, all detectors in the home will activate. This feature must also be working. Failure to have the proper detectors in place will result in a failed inspection.
All battery operated smoke detectors shall be 10 year sealed battery units. Smoke detectors that have changeable batteries will no longer be accepted.
Central station/low voltage alarm systems: If your home has a central station/low voltage alarm system, and this is the primary system, it must be installed as per the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code. The system must be fully operational including the battery back up system. There must be a sounder for the system on each level of the home and the sounder must be loud enough to be heard in each bedroom with the door closed (a min. of 70 decibels in the room). Someone must be present who knows how to operate the system as it will be set off and must be reset several times. Contact your alarm service company for more information.
Carbon Monoxide Alarms
The New Jersey Uniform Fire Code requires that a carbon monoxide alarm be installed in the area outside any bedrooms. If the hallways are long, more than one carbon monoxide alarm may be required. The alarm may be battery powered or plug in electric. It must be installed outside the bedrooms. If there are bedrooms on different levels, a carbon monoxide alarm must be installed at each level. Central station/low voltage carbon monoxide alarms are acceptable but must meet these requirements. They must be permanently mounted in the location specified by the manufacturers. Carbon monoxide alarms are not required if there are no fuel burning (natural gas, LP gas, fuel oil, wood coal) appliances (stove, boiler, furnace, wood stove, fire place) or the residence does not have an attached garage.
The code requires a fire extinguisher be installed in the kitchen area or within 10 feet of the kitchen. It must be in a visible location, not in a closet or behind a door. The extinguisher must be permanently installed using the manufacturers supplied brackets, with the top no more than 5 feet above the floor level. The fire extinguisher must be rated for residential use, consisting of an 2A:10B:C type; be no larger than a 10 pound fire extinguisher, and have a date on the label that is within one year of this inspection. An older extinguisher meeting the rating requirements may have an up to date tag from an approved fire extinguisher service company certifying it is in working condition. The receipt of purchase and the written operating instructions shall be with the extinguisher at the inspection, with the instructions left for the new owner.